new years eve 2017THE 2016 racing year finished with the 3.45 at Lingfield and a win for Temple Road, trained by Milton Bradley and ridden by George Baker.  His victory in the 5f sprint was his ninth career success and in doing so, he created a little piece of history by being the last winner in the British racing calendar.

Dean Ivory did not finish the year with a great hurragh but he did achieve another record-breaking season with £619,456 won in prize money.  This is the fourth year in succession Harper Lodge Farm has achieved its best ever year.  There were many highlights for the yard and these will be summarised in a short review in the New Year.

The first winner of 2016 was the appropriately named Champers On Ice for the Pipe/Scudamore team in a Novice Hurdle at Cheltenham.  I wonder who will make a small piece of history by winning the first race of 2017, a 6f median auction maiden, due off at 12.05pm at Southwell.

In the meantime, whether you’re heralding in 2017 at a party, a fireworks display or at home enjoying Jools Holland’s Hootenanny, Solario Racing would like to wish everyone in racing a very Happy and Prosperous New Year!